Du Plessis wants Gibson to carry on – even without him

“What’s my purpose going forward? Is it still playing all three formats for South Africa?” – Faf du Plessis

TMG Print

TELFORD VICE in Manchester

GAMES that don’t mean anything aren’t often preceded by press conferences as important as Faf du Plessis’ turn out to be on Friday.

There’s nothing on the line for South Africa in their men’s World Cup game against Australia at Old Trafford on Saturday, besides bidding farewell to JP Duminy and Imran Tahir — who are retiring from the format after the tournament.

That done, Du Plessis’ side will leave England with South Africa’s worst ever World Cup performance in their luggage.

Only once before, in 2003, have they crashed out in the opening round. But never have they done so before playing all of their group games, which is the case this time — they have lost five of their seven completed matches.   

The Aussies will finish on top of the log if they win on Saturday, which will set up a semi-final against fourth-placed New Zealand.

None of which was relevant during much of Du Plessis’ interaction with the press on Friday.

For instance, what were his thoughts on Ottis Gibson’s future?

“I would really want Ottis to stay on,” Du Plessis said. “As coach and captain we have a very good relationship, so I hope so.

“There’s a T20 World Cup next year in October and November in Australia and both of us planned to be there for that and this World Cup, because they are close together. That’s still how I see it.  

“One of the challenges with a new coach is that he needs time to build relationships. It takes time and energy to build a relationship with a new coach.

“I’ve invested a lot in Ottis and he’s invested a lot in me for us to learn to know each other, and for him to build a relationship with the other players.

“The question is, naturally, when does a new coach come in, because there is never an ideal time. But I want Ottis to stay on.”

Du Plessis might find himself at odds with Cricket South Africa (CSA) chief executive Thabang Moroe, who has said Gibson would have to win the title of take the team to the final to keep his job.

The issue will come up for discussion at CSA’s board meeting on July 20.

By then, the suits might also have to consider who to appoint as South Africa’s new captain and senior batter.

“My plan was to commit fully to the World Cup and not even think of anything else further because I didn’t want my mind to start drifting into the future,” Du Plessis said.

“I wanted to be completely present in this World Cup.

“Right now is possibly not the best time to be making decisions because you are disappointed.

“I won’t say emotional, but you don’t want to be in this mode when you are making career decisions.

“So, for me, it will be a case of taking some time off and reflecting what does the future look like for me as well.

“What’s my purpose going forward? Is it still playing all three formats for South Africa?

“Those are the things that I would need to consider.

“Probably two or three weeks after this tournament, [I will have] a real look at that and seeing what the future holds for me over the next year or two years.”

Today’s match will mark the first time South Africa play Australia since the return to the latter’s ranks of Steve Smith and David Warner, who were banned for ball-tampering during the Newlands Test in March last year.

“I think any player as good as the two of them who gets taken away from playing at the highest stage will come back extremely motivated,” Du Plessis said.

“And I think you can see that the two of them are and they are doing well and scoring runs.”

Warner has scored two centuries and three half-centuries at the World Cup, with Smith passing 50 three times.

Their performances, and Aaron Finch’s two tons and three 50s and Mitchell Starc taking 24 wickets at an economy rate of 5.01, are the big reasons Australia are where they are in this tournament. 

Author: Telford Vice

I have been writing, gainfully, since 1991. No-one has yet paid me enough to stop. @TelfordVice

Leave a comment